How to Bake Spaghetti Squash

Standard

Little Sunshine LOVES spaghetti. Put a bunch of delicious foods in front of her and it won’t matter if there is pasta in sight. Lucky for me she does not discriminate and will eat whole wheat, spelt or brown rice pasta. However, since I am continually trying to up her veggie intake, I have been searching for ways to sneak those veggies in all the while letting her enjoy her food. I tried making pasta out of zucchini (post will follow in the near future) and it worked okay, I intend to try some sweet potato “pasta” as well (definitely expect a post on this one!) but for the mean time, I have discovered that spaghetti squash is our best friend. I can add chard pesto to this topped with some grated grass fed cheese, or even a little bit of my homemade roasted tomato and butternut squash spaghetti sauce sprinkled with some grass fed ground beef. If you want a super simple dish, just top this with a little bit of coconut oil, some sea salt and a sprinkle of parsley. Either way, it is so good! If spaghetti squash can fool a carb loving 17 month old I am sure it can fool many. A little note though, spaghetti squash reminds me much more of vermicelli or rice noodles rather than actual “spaghetti”.

I have found organic spaghetti squash year round at both Whole Foods and our local Central Market. This week though, we got lucky because they were available at the farmer’s market for only $1.50/lb! Rae of Sunshine picked this pretty baby out herself and it cost us around $3.

Now for the How-To:

Preheat oven to 400°
Stab the squash with a knife a few times in different spots to avoid cracking
Place in a baking dish
Let cook for about an hour (will vary depending on the size of your squash)
Remove from oven and let it cool for a bit
Cut in half


Remove seeds
Begin scraping up and down with a fork; before your eyes you will see your “spaghetti” forming
The more you pull with the fork and separate the more noodle-like it will be
There you have it! Enjoy like you would any other pasta

Here is how we had it for lunch today:

About Organic Hispanic Mama

I am an artist who loves baking and a mama who loves cooking. My family and I support local farms and businesses and try to eat a plant strong diet based on real, whole foods. We do love our meat too though! I have been married for nearly 3 years to a man who never fails to keep my life exciting and am mama to a super girly 20 month old with a huge loving personality.

Leave a Reply

