Sweet Lordy! Sweet Potato Pancakes.

Standard

Today we had Sweet Potato Pancakes for breakfast! Rae of Sunshine loved them dipped in some Grade B Maple Syrup (yay!) and the Dada said sweet potatoes taste like crap. (If only he knew those same crappy sweet potatoes were hidden in his oh so loved homemade mac & cheese!) Before this morning, I had no idea sweet potato pancakes even existed. These are often the steps I take before making a meal:

1: look in fridge
2: ask “hmmm is there a recipe that uses these ingredients”
3: google a recipe
It is always fun to try something new! Usually I am successful in finding a recipe for those ingredients in question, and in a rare instance when I can’t find one I will often try to incorporate multiple recipes. That is what happened this morning. I googled “sweet potato pancakes” and then thought, why don’t I use oats ground into a flour instead of whole wheat flour, so then I googled “oat flour pancakes”. After searching through countless recipes, I combined a couple of ideas and subbed for things I just didn’t have stocked in the kitchen. And FINALLY, here is what I came up with. DELISH! (I promise there will be pictures next time!!)

Sweet Potato & Oat Pancakes

Ingredients*:
1 cup rolled oats
1 medium sweet potato
1 tablespoon unrefined virgin coconut oil
1/3 cup local pasture raised milk (adding a little extra if batter is too thick)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda (make sure it’s aluminum free)
2 pasture raised eggs
1 teaspoon cinnamon
splash of vanilla

Directions:
set sweet potato (skin on) in a pot of boiling water for about 10-15 minutes (or use prebaked sweet potato from dinner the night before)
process oats in a food processor or blender (I use my Ninja master prep blender) until an oaty flour has formed (does not have to be fine and powdery)
peel sweet potato and add to oats in processor, blend until nicely incorporated
throw in the rest of ingredients and pulse a few times until fully blended
oil cast iron skillet (or any other pan) with a little bit of coconut oil, pour batter, wait for a few bubbles to form, then flip, give it a minute, then remove from skillet

Optional:
Enjoy with a pat of butter from pasture raised cows, a little bit of grade B maple syrup, and a handful of blueberries on the side

Oh did you notice there is no added sugar in these pancakes?! I hope you enjoy these as much as little Sunshine and I did!

*Please use all organic ingredients when possible!

About Organic Hispanic Mama

I am an artist who loves baking and a mama who loves cooking. My family and I support local farms and businesses and try to eat a plant strong diet based on real, whole foods. We do love our meat too though! I have been married for nearly 3 years to a man who never fails to keep my life exciting and am mama to a super girly 20 month old with a huge loving personality.

Leave a Reply

